Which WWII tank would survive the longest on a modern battlefield?

• This topic is locked This topic is locked
123 replies to this topic

Gyrfalcon 642 #1 Posted 01 October 2015 - 07:45 PM

Staff sergeant

• Players
  • 12614 battles

Title says it all.  Which WW2 tank would have the best chance of surviving on the modern battlefield.

I'll start the fun, I'm going with the M24 Chaffee. 

I'm no expert, but I'm going on the assumption that NO WW2 tank had armor that could stand up to modern guns.  So I'm going with the tank that I'm guessing would be the hardest to hit.

Debate and lets have some fun.

CosmlcOstrich #2 Posted 01 October 2015 - 07:51 PM

First lieutenant

• Players
  • 22410 battles
I would have to go with the Leopard 1 due to the fact that the way of thinking when it was built was that armor was obsolete because of the guns that were available so instead they capitalized on the British design of the 105mm around a very fast and agile tank which is how the leopard series began I feel it would probably stand the best chance since it foregoes armor for a great gun and maneuverability. 

BleakPanther #3 Posted 01 October 2015 - 07:58 PM

Staff sergeant

• Beta Tester
  • 5840 battles

View PostCosmlcOstrich, on 01 October 2015 - 11:51 AM, said:

I would have to go with the Leopard 1 due to the fact that the way of thinking when it was built was that armor was obsolete because of the guns that were available so instead they capitalized on the British design of the 105mm around a very fast and agile tank which is how the leopard series began I feel it would probably stand the best chance since it foregoes armor for a great gun and maneuverability. 

Isn't that tank a bit later than WW2?

Anyways, I'll have to give it to the Locust tank.