Jump to content


Networking tips (looks like I may have solved my lag issues)

lag

  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

LTBulldog #21 Posted 15 November 2017 - 03:57 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 8887 battles
  • 182
  • Member since:
    06-03-2016

View Postfordg6eturbo, on 12 November 2017 - 07:37 PM, said:

yeah, I don't use wi-fi for my xbox one, better with ethernet via power line adapters

 

QFT.  I switched to a powerline adapter last month and it reduced my chronic lag spikes to almost none.

giaka #22 Posted 15 November 2017 - 06:14 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 36860 battles
  • 16,886
  • [WTAF]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2013

View PostLTBulldog, on 15 November 2017 - 07:57 AM, said:

 

QFT.  I switched to a powerline adapter last month and it reduced my chronic lag spikes to almost none.

 

Dont forget coax adapters as well. That is what I used. My house had coax for tv in every room. Most of it wasn't being used so I put coax to Ethernet adapters on the coax runs and ban, whole house is wired.

 

https://www.amazon.c...0?ie=UTF8&psc=1


 

 

 

 


Mr HIPP0 #23 Posted 15 November 2017 - 06:19 PM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 18481 battles
  • 168
  • [OLDG]
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013
Does anyone else bother forwarding the correct ports for Xbox live, or adding their Xbox to their routers DMZ?

 OldGamerz.co.uk

OldGamerz.co.uk Mature gaming community for the over 30's

Playing for fun, not stats.


gnorville #24 Posted 16 November 2017 - 12:51 AM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 10319 battles
  • 181
  • Member since:
    01-23-2016

View PostAelgyn, on 12 November 2017 - 09:03 PM

 

If anyone has other home networking tips, please share them.

I was having frustrating lag problems once per game that would last about 30 seconds, EVERY dang game. My tank would just wander wherever it wanted to, sometimes right out in front of enemies. A $9.99 network cable and one day shipping for a total of around $15 cured the problem. Thanks, Amazon.

 

So, if you’re using wifi, hardwiring your machine to your router may help you out. It worked for me.



hybris #25 Posted 16 November 2017 - 07:48 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 23466 battles
  • 1,546
  • Member since:
    07-27-2014

You cannot say WLAN dont work etc. WOT is not as network dependent as many FPS. But yes LAN connected is always optimal. But WLAN works fine if you have a good WLAN. If you share a single AP the risk is that other devices on the network will disturb. For example HD video streaming etc at the same time as you play. Or DL of GB of games. 

 

I have 2ms ping from my homenetwork to test servers in the Nordics. With WLAN its 4-5 ms. Yes WOT servers have higher ping but just as a reference on the diff between WLAN and LAN in a high speed fibre network. Have a steady 500/100 speed. (best price perf for me. Can go up to 1000/1000 bit it really dont give any big upside)

 

I have even played on 4G and it works ok. (once had an ISP issue and falled over to 4G)

 

So my point is that WLAN can work very good with WoT with the right setup. GB switched cable is prefered when possible. But even 4G is playable without lag if you have a strong 4G signal.


Senior Technical Engineer
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Darkgift #26 Posted 16 November 2017 - 08:02 AM

    Major

  • Players
  • 12623 battles
  • 3,125
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    07-13-2015
I upgraded my router some time ago with a nighthawk router..

The router worked great, but the wifi signals were so strong, they were actually overpowering my controllers connections..

I would have to fight for approx 10 minutes each time I turned the box on to get the controllers to sync..

Put my old router back in, and the controllers worked like a champ..

So just a word of caution on upgrading sometimes..


Dark

 

Thanks go to Violet Viper X for the sig!


MrBob_A_Feet #27 Posted 16 November 2017 - 12:03 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 5582 battles
  • 110
  • [UP]
  • Member since:
    02-09-2016
easiest way to fix lag is to give wargamming more money.

 Whatever your point is its wrong and your irrelevant. 


IBROX 04 #28 Posted 16 November 2017 - 12:12 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 17017 battles
  • 3,416
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-10-2014
I play on all servers, both Xbox and ps4, never have any lag or lag spike problems. Though I do get what Darkgift said, my controller would cut out because of my wifi. Got that fixed, with a tip from Snore.. I bought a long USB cable. 

https://www.sbhscotland.org.uk            

 

 

 

 


Steel Wolf 31 #29 Posted 16 November 2017 - 05:16 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 14678 battles
  • 1,046
  • [VGC]
  • Member since:
    05-02-2014

For those of you that running an Ethernet cable from the router to the Xbox isn't feasible there is another option for a hardwire connection. In my old apartment I used devices called Ethernet Powerline Adapters. My landlord had put the router on the top floor, which worked out great for everyone except me who lived in the basement. Trying to broadcast through two floors has a tendency to make all your packets disappear. 

Ethernet Powerline Adapters allow you to transmit data on ordinary electrical wiring. So I talked my landlord into letting my install, well... plug in, some adapters and I went from turbo lag to normal speed. 

For your amusement this is what it was like to play with the wireless router in the attic.

Spoiler

 

 


What ever tactic you use is legit, but if the emey does it then its a cheap unfair OP noob tactic. 

http://www.wotinfo.n...687&server=xbox


redshadowrider #30 Posted 16 November 2017 - 05:37 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 27731 battles
  • 5,724
  • Member since:
    03-17-2014

View Postfordg6eturbo, on 12 November 2017 - 09:37 PM, said:

yeah, I don't use wi-fi for my xbox one, better with ethernet via power line adapters

 

Same here...power line adapters and a connection at 4.5 mps up and 1.5mps down.  If it stays consistent it doesn't affect my game at all.
I'm just saying.....





Also tagged with lag

1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users