Jump to content


Shenanigans Afoot...


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

GingerSquatch93 #1 Posted 17 May 2018 - 05:53 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 3150 battles
  • 175
  • [VKNG]
  • Member since:
    11-24-2017

So I've noticed something in the last few months, with regards to the tech tree, there are instances where two tank lines merge into a single line. Now there's nothing wrong with this, but there are some things that make this strange, the first thing is that you cannot combine the experience from those two different tanks to research the next tank higher.

 

The second is that there are several instances that the resulting tank is more than twice as expensive in terms of experience than any other tank in its tier, and often more expensive than the tank the NEXT tier higher. The two most obvious examples (that I remember right now) are the AMX 13 F3, coming from the AMX 12t and the AMX 13 105 which is actually more expensive than the Lorraine the next tier up and the Jackson, coming from the Wolverine and the E8.

 

Is there any kind of concrete reasoning for this? Or was it meant to be able to combine XP for research and someone didn't double check their code?


Commander, 16th Armored Battalion "Viking" - Ask me about joining!

Lejonet från Norden​ - The Lion from the North

​MoE: // **: T-34-85 // *: T-44-100, Primo Victoria, Strv M-42/57

​Technical Engineer: Sweden (Working towards Czechoslovakia and China)


Willen #2 Posted 17 May 2018 - 10:49 PM

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 19815 battles
  • 873
  • Member since:
    02-13-2016

You have to think of the XP as still going to the tank you are using currently to get Elite status, not going towards unlocking the next tank.

 

Plus, in the instance of the Jackson, it will be faster going from the Wolverine since it's TD to TD. Any time you jump a line to a different tank type like the E8 to the Jackson (medium to TD), that branch is going to cost more. Yes, it sucks that to elite the E8 is much more than similar tanks due to the extra requirement, but it gives some people an option for accessing a different line without starting at tier 2.

 

So if you want to spend the minimum amount of XP to unlock these tanks, go through the tech line straight, don't go through a different branch (or root?).



GingerSquatch93 #3 Posted 18 May 2018 - 06:21 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 3150 battles
  • 175
  • [VKNG]
  • Member since:
    11-24-2017

View PostWillen, on 17 May 2018 - 05:49 PM, said:

You have to think of the XP as still going to the tank you are using currently to get Elite status, not going towards unlocking the next tank.

 

Plus, in the instance of the Jackson, it will be faster going from the Wolverine since it's TD to TD. Any time you jump a line to a different tank type like the E8 to the Jackson (medium to TD), that branch is going to cost more. Yes, it sucks that to elite the E8 is much more than similar tanks due to the extra requirement, but it gives some people an option for accessing a different line without starting at tier 2.

 

So if you want to spend the minimum amount of XP to unlock these tanks, go through the tech line straight, don't go through a different branch (or root?).

 

​That is so far off my point its almost not funny. My question is, regardless of jumping branches, why is it the case that a tank comes from two different ones, costs TWICE as much as the rest of the tier but you can't use the experience from both tanks in researching the final product? Especially when in certain instances, there is features from both tanks in the resulting tank.

Commander, 16th Armored Battalion "Viking" - Ask me about joining!

Lejonet från Norden​ - The Lion from the North

​MoE: // **: T-34-85 // *: T-44-100, Primo Victoria, Strv M-42/57

​Technical Engineer: Sweden (Working towards Czechoslovakia and China)


PATRIOTICxTBro #4 Posted 18 May 2018 - 06:29 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11699 battles
  • 1,346
  • [-HOW-]
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013

View PostGingerSquatch93, on 18 May 2018 - 06:21 PM, said:

 

​That is so far off my point its almost not funny. My question is, regardless of jumping branches, why is it the case that a tank comes from two different ones, costs TWICE as much as the rest of the tier but you can't use the experience from both tanks in researching the final product? Especially when in certain instances, there is features from both tanks in the resulting tank.

 

i was going to help but then you had to go and be rude for no reason. So figure this one out on your own kid. 


 

Ask me how to join -HOW- 2nd armored Hell on Wheels


T-Bear420 #5 Posted 18 May 2018 - 07:26 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 27859 battles
  • 191
  • [D-P-M]
  • Member since:
    02-01-2016
So this clown gets an answer from someone who almost has seven times the games played and doesn't like the answer. So the poster then becomes a jack-donkey! Awesome! :trollface:

DefiantSpurr #6 Posted 18 May 2018 - 07:40 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11493 battles
  • 1,516
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-11-2014
Yeah i noticed this with a few branches too. If there are two lines that merge,even if the last tanks before the merge are both elite, it will only use xp from one line to unlock the tank they both go to. Annoying.

everything i say is my own opinion.

 

Hi, my name is Defiantspurr My voice is my passport. Verify Me.


 


Schiavoser #7 Posted 18 May 2018 - 07:44 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 21862 battles
  • 210
  • Member since:
    09-21-2016

View PostGingerSquatch93, on 18 May 2018 - 06:21 PM, said:

 

​That is so far off my point its almost not funny. My question is, regardless of jumping branches, why is it the case that a tank comes from two different ones, costs TWICE as much as the rest of the tier but you can't use the experience from both tanks in researching the final product? Especially when in certain instances, there is features from both tanks in the resulting tank.

 

It doesn't really cost "twice as much," now that you know how your XP will pay for it. In future instances, choose one path toward the tank you want and not both. Problem solved.

DefiantSpurr #8 Posted 18 May 2018 - 07:48 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11493 battles
  • 1,516
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-11-2014

Examples:

Japanese line, ke-ho light tank and Che-he medium tank merge at the Chi-Nu. And yet only xp from one unlocks the chi-nu.


everything i say is my own opinion.

 

Hi, my name is Defiantspurr My voice is my passport. Verify Me.


 


DefiantSpurr #9 Posted 18 May 2018 - 07:49 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 11493 battles
  • 1,516
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-11-2014

 

 

Same with the firefly and Achilles. Both merge at the challenger. Again only one can contribute xp when unlocking.

 

And the kv-13+ kv85..

 

most nations have a line which does it. It's really annoying


everything i say is my own opinion.

 

Hi, my name is Defiantspurr My voice is my passport. Verify Me.


 


Corrupted Ewok #10 Posted 18 May 2018 - 08:24 PM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 17724 battles
  • 3,761
  • [REEK]
  • Member since:
    08-20-2013

Each tanks xp is unique to that tank regardless of what comes after or parallel to it. Until you throw your wallet at the situation anyway.

 

Most instances, possibly all of them, where a tank is accessible in the tech tree from multiple lower or same tier tanks have been only accessible from a single tank in the past and as far as progress is concerned these are still separate lines up to that point. XP isn't interchangeable between lines, merging at a single point or otherwise, without converting it to free XP. So there's your answer. Gold.


I want the old Chaffee back.

 

Lok-Vah-Koor!





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users