Support your Team!: Scout Guide

Scouts Scouting Spotting Stealth Lights Light Dodging Support

• Please log in to reply
39 replies to this topic

Godeater 333 #1 Posted 24 February 2014 - 03:40 AM

Major

• Players
  • 10332 battles

Well, a big thank you to all for the positive response to my recent "Support your Scout!" thread. It's very cool to have a community this motivated and supportive. 

I've had a few calls to expand on my Scouting expertise. While my ego is loving it, I can't say I'm an expert by any means - everything I know I learned from this forum and from the several hundred battles I've had, so my first bit of advice is search around the forum for helpful threads and keep getting out into the field and trying out different tactics. 

After that, for what it's worth, here's what I think we Scouts need to be doing. As usual, I'll skip the basics and assume that anyone who has read this far already has a few battles under their belt. 

Set Up

First and foremost, learn the maps - we already know the importance of terrain, but from the Scouting perspective what we're interested in are lines of approach - the places the OpFor will be coming from - that's where we want to be, and we want to be there and hiding before the OpFor comes through. At the start of the battle, check the map and decide where you're going.

The main defense of the Scout is Stealth - the OpFor can't shoot you if they don't know you're there. In the opening minutes of the battle, tear ahead to the place you've picked out. Find a good spot with some bushes, maybe knock over a tree and use that*, or hide behind a rock in a pinch, but do it quickly. The OpFor Scouts are going to be along any second and you want to be invisible when they come through.