Jump to content


PS4 Pro Game/Console Freezes every match @ 4k


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

TURBO_SETH #1 Posted 14 September 2018 - 02:47 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20062 battles
  • 91
  • [KAPPA]
  • Member since:
    02-19-2016
I just purchased a new PS4 PRO console. I have a 4k HDR TV with an HDMI port capable of 4k @ 60hz. In every world of tanks game I've played I've locked up to the point I can't even get to the PS4 Menu. The screen is frozen, but I can still hear voice chat. A hard reset by unplugging the console is the only way to get out of the game. I've deleted and re-installed world of tanks and have the same issue. I only know one other person with a PRO and they don't have a 4k tv. Before logging off last night I played 2 games with my PS4 at 1080p instead of 4k and didn't crash. There seems to be an issue with the 4k, but that is the main reason I got a PRO...

MaxChaos24 #2 Posted 14 September 2018 - 03:03 PM

    Gameplay Expert

  • Administrator
  • 12111 battles
  • 18,530
  • Member since:
    09-15-2013

View PostTURBO_SETH, on 14 September 2018 - 10:47 AM, said:

I just purchased a new PS4 PRO console. I have a 4k HDR TV with an HDMI port capable of 4k @ 60hz. In every world of tanks game I've played I've locked up to the point I can't even get to the PS4 Menu. The screen is frozen, but I can still hear voice chat. A hard reset by unplugging the console is the only way to get out of the game. I've deleted and re-installed world of tanks and have the same issue. I only know one other person with a PRO and they don't have a 4k tv. Before logging off last night I played 2 games with my PS4 at 1080p instead of 4k and didn't crash. There seems to be an issue with the 4k, but that is the main reason I got a PRO...

 

Created an investigation ticket to have a look into it. :honoring:

AssassinGuru #3 Posted 14 September 2018 - 09:05 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 34776 battles
  • 437
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    03-30-2014
Maybe it is PRO checkerboarding issue, as there is no true 4k on PS4

IBROX 04 #4 Posted 14 September 2018 - 09:11 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 18318 battles
  • 7,026
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-10-2014

View PostTURBO_SETH, on 14 September 2018 - 03:47 PM, said:

I just purchased a new PS4 PRO console. I have a 4k HDR TV with an HDMI port capable of 4k @ 60hz. In every world of tanks game I've played I've locked up to the point I can't even get to the PS4 Menu. The screen is frozen, but I can still hear voice chat. A hard reset by unplugging the console is the only way to get out of the game. I've deleted and re-installed world of tanks and have the same issue. I only know one other person with a PRO and they don't have a 4k tv. Before logging off last night I played 2 games with my PS4 at 1080p instead of 4k and didn't crash. There seems to be an issue with the 4k, but that is the main reason I got a PRO...

 

Try HDMi 2, 3, 4 ect see if you have the same issue. 

 

Just noticed, when you say port ? You mean one of em wee Adapters for 4K@60Hz If so it could be faulty. 


 

Aaron William Murray                    Forever in our hearts

 

 

 


TURBO_SETH #5 Posted 15 September 2018 - 12:54 AM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20062 battles
  • 91
  • [KAPPA]
  • Member since:
    02-19-2016
There is no adapter; it is just plugged directly into the HDMI slots on the TV. HDMI 3 and 4 can do 4k at 60hz, and 1 and 2 4k at 30hz. It has issues with all of them.

TURBO_SETH #6 Posted 15 September 2018 - 02:12 AM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20062 battles
  • 91
  • [KAPPA]
  • Member since:
    02-19-2016
It now froze up today sitting in the garage. I could still hear party chat, but couldnt do anything. I tried unplugging my internet cable, and after 10 seconds or so WOT closed and I was back at the main PSN screen.

P6X330 #7 Posted 16 September 2018 - 05:02 PM

    Major

  • Supertest - PS4
  • 12412 battles
  • 2,457
  • [AMXS]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2017

View PostTURBO_SETH, on 14 September 2018 - 08:47 AM, said:

I just purchased a new PS4 PRO console. I have a 4k HDR TV with an HDMI port capable of 4k @ 60hz. In every world of tanks game I've played I've locked up to the point I can't even get to the PS4 Menu. The screen is frozen, but I can still hear voice chat. A hard reset by unplugging the console is the only way to get out of the game. I've deleted and re-installed world of tanks and have the same issue. I only know one other person with a PRO and they don't have a 4k tv. Before logging off last night I played 2 games with my PS4 at 1080p instead of 4k and didn't crash. There seems to be an issue with the 4k, but that is the main reason I got a PRO...

 

I had the same issue as you did with my PS4 Pro.

It has nothing to do with WG.

It has to do with your settings;

Let me check and I will come back and edit my post.


I do not know what display brand you are using, however remember the PS4 will output according to the display settings! e.g. if your display is set for on 1080p (60 Hz) or 720p (60 Hz) the PS4 pro will automatically adjust to those, and you will see a message on your display.

Check what HDMI port(s) are FULL 4K on your display; on mine, HDMI port 2 and 3 are, the others are not!

Also, on my set, to get 4K, I need to have "Wide Mode" set to Full...

 

In other words, check your Display settings, as the Pro will automatically adjust what it sends according to what the display is configured for; this is the beauty of HDMI and HDCP 2.2...


 

What HDMI cable are you using? the one that came with your PS4 Pro? there is probably no reason why any HDMI cable should not work, but when I called Sony to trouble shoot, they were ADAMANT I had to use the HDMI cable that came with the PS4 Pro..


Edited by P6X330, 16 September 2018 - 05:29 PM.

                Bad teams are in the same battle. Good teams work together! don't complain, contribute.

 


P6X330 #8 Posted 16 September 2018 - 05:04 PM

    Major

  • Supertest - PS4
  • 12412 battles
  • 2,457
  • [AMXS]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2017

View PostAssassinGuru, on 14 September 2018 - 03:05 PM, said:

Maybe it is PRO checkerboarding issue, as there is no true 4k on PS4

 

True, PS4 does not out put "Full" 4K resolution;

 

Max is 3840 x 2160, which is good enough.


                Bad teams are in the same battle. Good teams work together! don't complain, contribute.

 


P6X330 #9 Posted 16 September 2018 - 05:38 PM

    Major

  • Supertest - PS4
  • 12412 battles
  • 2,457
  • [AMXS]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2017

View PostTURBO_SETH, on 14 September 2018 - 06:54 PM, said:

There is no adapter; it is just plugged directly into the HDMI slots on the TV. HDMI 3 and 4 can do 4k at 60hz, and 1 and 2 4k at 30hz. It has issues with all of them.

 

Sounds like you have a Sony TV? specs resemble mine. So you have the same problem I had at setup.

                Bad teams are in the same battle. Good teams work together! don't complain, contribute.

 


Monkey CH #10 Posted 17 September 2018 - 11:44 AM

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 41216 battles
  • 592
  • Member since:
    02-22-2014

View PostP6X330, on 16 September 2018 - 07:04 PM, said:

 

True, PS4 does not out put "Full" 4K resolution;

 

Max is 3840 x 2160, which is good enough.

 

This IS 4K. :)

4K (3840x2160) is the double (horizontal and vertical) of 1080p (1920x1080), which is called 4K or 2160p. But it is correct, that the PS4 has difficulty to output native 4K. So it uses some tricks called Checkerboard rendering, which isn't true 4k, but this souldn't be the problem here.

But for the problerm of the OP, I think also, that there is an issues with the TV Settings here and not directly with WoT. Use the cable from the PS4 Pro and not the one of the original PS4!


Edited by Monkey CH, 17 September 2018 - 11:53 AM.


TURBO_SETH #11 Posted 17 September 2018 - 02:47 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20062 battles
  • 91
  • [KAPPA]
  • Member since:
    02-19-2016

After doing a full initialize on the PS4 and re-installing (third time now) I was able to play like 4 matches before it locked up. I've tried two different HDMI cables, all 4 ports on my TV (two do 4k @60hz), and even downgraded to 1080p. On the 4k 60hz ports it definitely shows output at 4k (3840x2160)  with HDR when I hit the info button on my TV.

 

I've rebuilt the PS4 database numerous times. I get random freezes no matter what I've tried. Sometimes I can get 3-4 games in, others it is every single match, and it's even happened in the garage. I can play Madden 19 @ 4k with HDR for hours with no issue. I originally thought it may just be a bad console out of the box, but it doesn't lock up playing madden or rocket league at all. 



P6X330 #12 Posted 19 September 2018 - 01:25 PM

    Major

  • Supertest - PS4
  • 12412 battles
  • 2,457
  • [AMXS]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2017

View PostMonkey CH, on 17 September 2018 - 05:44 AM, said:

 

This IS 4K. :)

4K (3840x2160) is the double (horizontal and vertical) of 1080p (1920x1080), which is called 4K or 2160p. But it is correct, that the PS4 has difficulty to output native 4K. So it uses some tricks called Checkerboard rendering, which isn't true 4k, but this souldn't be the problem here.

But for the problerm of the OP, I think also, that there is an issues with the TV Settings here and not directly with WoT. Use the cable from the PS4 Pro and not the one of the original PS4!

 

I was referring to DCI 4K, or 4094 x 2160; but you are correct, UHD 4K is 3840 x 2160 and that is the standard for consumer display. 

                Bad teams are in the same battle. Good teams work together! don't complain, contribute.

 


P6X330 #13 Posted 19 September 2018 - 01:32 PM

    Major

  • Supertest - PS4
  • 12412 battles
  • 2,457
  • [AMXS]
  • Member since:
    07-02-2017

View PostTURBO_SETH, on 17 September 2018 - 08:47 AM, said:

After doing a full initialize on the PS4 and re-installing (third time now) I was able to play like 4 matches before it locked up. I've tried two different HDMI cables, all 4 ports on my TV (two do 4k @60hz), and even downgraded to 1080p. On the 4k 60hz ports it definitely shows output at 4k (3840x2160)  with HDR when I hit the info button on my TV.

 

I've rebuilt the PS4 database numerous times. I get random freezes no matter what I've tried. Sometimes I can get 3-4 games in, others it is every single match, and it's even happened in the garage. I can play Madden 19 @ 4k with HDR for hours with no issue. I originally thought it may just be a bad console out of the box, but it doesn't lock up playing madden or rocket league at all. 

 

HDMI cables are not your problem here....

 

If you are in the USA, you can call Sony's help line. This is something Europeans would die to have. I am European, and it is simply incredible the quality of customer service you have here in the USA!

 

If you are not, then try to connect your PS4 Pro to a different 4K display.

If you know someone who has a PS4 Pro, ask him/her to set up is console to test your Display.

 

What I am suggesting is trying to isolate the problem, either it is the console, or it is the Display.

 

However, I seem to understand you said that you managed to have 4K at some point? that's trickier, because it could be an intermittent issue. These are the toughest ones to fix.

 

 


                Bad teams are in the same battle. Good teams work together! don't complain, contribute.

 


TURBO_SETH #14 Posted 19 September 2018 - 11:52 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 20062 battles
  • 91
  • [KAPPA]
  • Member since:
    02-19-2016
I have zero issues getting 4k with HDR. The PS4 locking up constantly in the middle of matches is the issue.




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users