WoT or WoR? Robot mode review, pulling no punches!

mech mode core breach updates tips reviews wargaming xbox moneygrab strategy tactics

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

TheRealRedRoach #1 Posted 30 January 2019 - 02:20 AM

Corporal

• Players
  • 3079 battles
  • [SW4RM]

Ok.  So...  I played this Mechs version.  I'll sum it up in five words.  Boom!  Bang!  Boom!  Bang!  Boom!

I've been playing WoT for about 6 years now.  Wargaming has had some incredible successes and some colossal blunders.  How did they do with this new play option?  In my humble opinion, it is complete trash.  Like a petulant child banging on pots and pans they pulled out of the kitchen cabinets with no regard for rhythm, timing or any sort of appealing creative positive attribute, it's cute for about 5 seconds, then goes straight into nails-on-chalkboard annoying.

There is zero strategy.

Tactics?  Yeah.  Hold the firing trigger down almost the whole time, try to keep the reticle on enemy targets while moving so the three guys aiming at you have a more difficult time shooting you and then die pretty quickly.

Most battles, the difference between the top guys (around 77K damage) and the bottom guys (around 35K damage) is about 50%.  That seems like a lot, but compare that to the team list post-battle in a tank match.  There almost no skill separation.

It is all aim and blast, mostly shotgun type (the reticle never expands or contracts with movement). 

Buildings are destroyed within the first couple of minutes of the battle, so forget about using cover effectively for an advantage.  What makes this even more frustrating is the fact that all the players are contained in a little bowl like arena.  It's tiny.  You can literally shoot each other immediately after initial spawn.

You re-spawn (in apparently random areas of the map) about 15 seconds after you are destroyed.  Enemies can be in front, behind, to the side...