Jump to content


How good is your internet connection?


  • Please log in to reply
85 replies to this topic

Poll: How good is your internet connection? (121 members have cast votes)

You have to complete 50 battles in order to participate this poll.

What is your ping (otherwise known as latency)?

  1. 0-10 ms (30 votes [24.79%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 24.79%

  2. 11-20 ms (33 votes [27.27%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 27.27%

  3. 21-30 ms (18 votes [14.88%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 14.88%

  4. 31-40 ms (12 votes [9.92%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 9.92%

  5. 41-50 ms (8 votes [6.61%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 6.61%

  6. 51-60 ms (4 votes [3.31%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.31%

  7. 61-70 ms (6 votes [4.96%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.96%

  8. 71-80 ms (1 vote [0.83%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 0.83%

  9. 81-90 ms (3 votes [2.48%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.48%

  10. 91+ ms (6 votes [4.96%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.96%

What is your download speed?

  1. 451+ mbps (21 votes [17.36%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 17.36%

  2. 401-450 mbps (3 votes [2.48%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 2.48%

  3. 351-400 mbps (4 votes [3.31%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.31%

  4. 301-350 mbps (5 votes [4.13%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.13%

  5. 251-300 mbps (4 votes [3.31%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 3.31%

  6. 201-250 mbps (10 votes [8.26%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 8.26%

  7. 151-200 mbps (5 votes [4.13%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.13%

  8. 101-150 mbps (6 votes [4.96%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 4.96%

  9. 51-100 mbps (34 votes [28.10%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 28.10%

  10. 0-50 mbps (29 votes [23.97%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 23.97%

Vote Hide poll

ShotGunJohnny62 #81 Posted 23 March 2019 - 08:32 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 29435 battles
  • 301
  • Member since:
    08-24-2013

View PostIBROX 04, on 23 March 2019 - 07:29 PM, said:

Tested my Interweb via wire + xbox , still getting kicked every 20 minutes. Oh well back to wireless/WiFi. 

 

if you use more than one port on the hub 3 it knocks it out it is the chip in the hub 3 that's at fault the only way around it is do what i have done

IBROX 04 #82 Posted 23 March 2019 - 08:47 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 19936 battles
  • 8,745
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    11-10-2014

View PostShotGunJohnny62, on 23 March 2019 - 08:32 PM, said:

 

if you use more than one port on the hub 3 it knocks it out it is the chip in the hub 3 that's at fault the only way around it is do what i have done

 

Thanks I'll test that out , currently have PS4 + V6 Tivo box hooked up with wire and if i connect a wire to the Xbox it kicks the xbone x and get an WoT servers unavailable message. As i said thanks, because i never thought of running just one ethernet from the Hub. 

 

 

 

 


Koncorde #83 Posted 23 March 2019 - 10:10 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 24079 battles
  • 1,742
  • Member since:
    06-08-2014

View PostP6X330, on 23 March 2019 - 02:28 PM, said:

Stop the press!

 

After many phone calls to my provider, here in Houston, I got an upgrade for free; meaning, they gave me more bandwidth for the exact same price I was paying so far.

 

With my initial deal, I was supposed to get 20 down, 3 up. I was getting around 1 down, and 2 up.

 

My service should now be 100 down, and whatever up.

 

Measured this morning:

Ping 240 ms - Jitter 480 ms - packet loss no measurable says SpeedTest

 

Download 1.15 Mbps, Upload 1.10 Mbps...

 

Laughable....

 

Not sure if you are able to, but in the UK you can measure distance to the exchange. The distance to the exchange is the defining factor in most people's available internet speed and has a drastic drop off. By the time you get to the 2.5 mile marker you can expect all of the performances to be equally poor.

 

The easiest way to imagine performance is like water being pushed out of a bucket with a plunger. The bigger the plunger at the exchange, the more water can be pushed out of the bucket to flow to their customers, and the bigger distance/area that can be covered with the most water with each plunge.

 

However if you are outside the distance, you ain't getting anything but splashback.



Spexinator25 #84 Posted 25 March 2019 - 11:06 AM

    First lieutenant

  • Players
  • 68589 battles
  • 899
  • [KRZ8]
  • Member since:
    02-12-2014

What is a good range in port selection for this game?  I've tried various ranges from auto to 49k/50k range to change lag/latency...Sometimes certain range is better than others..

Just wondering which is best.



Cyrex005 #85 Posted 25 March 2019 - 02:50 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 10510 battles
  • 1,071
  • [BNKR]
  • Member since:
    12-25-2014
Router test to Reston where the closest connection point is: 945.56Mbs Download 895.82Mbs upload with 14ms Latancy. Now with Wifi drop it to about 100mbs Download and 80Mbs Upload with a Latancy of about 18ms. I get about full speed if I connect the RJ-45 connection instead.

Symbiot911 #86 Posted 26 March 2019 - 07:40 AM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 35799 battles
  • 1,112
  • Member since:
    02-16-2014

View PostMaxChaos24, on 22 March 2019 - 03:17 AM, said:

Bandwidth has little to do with the quality of your connection, that's just how much you can download at once.  A latency / packet loss / jitter test would be more what you should be running to see the quality of your connection. :great:

 

Absolutely agree with that Max  Here in Melbourne, Australia, my connection to the closest server /exchange, and I have a HFC on Australia's National broadband network is 93.7Mbps dl & 38.5Mbps ul. Ping is 10ms & jitter 1ms. No packet loss. It's a massively different story when it comes to connecting to a server in Chicago though. My ping is a rather horrible 268 to 290ms, so not good for those situations where you need your gun to fire before the other players gun. My download speed drops to around 38Mbps, but the real surprise  at least to me, is that the upload speed drops to around 13-22Mbs depending on the server I choose in Chicago. I haven't even bothered testing the EU server as it's pretty much unusable for me. All I can see in the signal is the tiniest little red light in the first bar. It hasn't always been like this. Before a major update maybe 2 1/2 years ago, I had 3 orange bars on the EU server, often had full green on the NA West, and the NA East, although it had lag issues, was still playable. Now of course, as there's only one server that's usable, if it becomes unplayable, I have to stop playing. Right now  it's 6.10pm and I have two orange bars and it's running OK, a couple of stutters here and there, but still, I have no idea why the longer the game has been running, the worse my connection to your servers has become. When I had decent signal to all the servers, I wasn't even on cable internet yet  I was on plain old copper wire ADSL 2+ with at best 5.3KBps dl and 1.2KBps ul. I changed to cable to be able to play, but that got slower as time passed and then along came out [edited]NBN that the government completely broke. It was supposed to be all FTTH, but as is so typical of politicians, they are brainless corrupt fools who have no idea what they are doing and they totally stuffed the NBN up by changing to a slower FTTN and HFC+ satellite model. Now they call it mixed technology because they're adding FTTC, but the fact is that they've done this massive FTTN roll out and as you'd know, the technology used to get the signal from the node to the houses is the good old existing copper telephone wires that have been up there for 50 years. So what should have been a whiz bang, future proof Gigabit capable network is now a complete $20 billion+ mess that can barely deliver 100Mbps speed. Oh  and it doesn't help that the idiot American guy they bought in to run the national broadband network roll-out decided that is Australians don't need  and don't want internet speeds higher than 100Mbps. There was no consensus, no poll or survey to actually ask us what we'd like, just a nice big helping of condescending American crap talk, like a big brother telling his kid brother what he does and doesn't like. Sorry it turned out to be such a rant. 

View PostKoncorde, on 22 March 2019 - 05:24 AM, said:

 

Virgin with Hub3 here, it has worked fine for me so far. My old Hub2 was a mess that I had replaced so often they gave in and gave me the upgrade.

 

I have been weighing up buying my own router and bypassing Virgins kit for WiFi etc. It has worked fine so far, but can be temperamental when using PoE or Power line Adapters or similar hook ups






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users