Why do Tier X battles feel like going back in time?

Tier X Bad players Bad teammates

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

Monkeying About #1 Posted 10 August 2019 - 10:38 AM

Corporal

• Players
  • 18327 battles
  • [DG-]

I started playing this game on console over 5 years ago.  It was fun and exciting. I didn't really understand how the different tanks should be played, the mechanics or the tactics. The maps were new and I hadn't learnt where I should go and where I should avoid. Everyone seemed to be finding their way in a similar manner.

But over time (and quite a lot of money) I learned the different classes, tactics and maps. As I did this I slowly progressed along the tiers... isn't this how Wargaming intended the game to be played?

After 5 long years I have a collection of tier X tanks and I play them quite a lot. One of the rewards of these long years of grinding were impressive tanks and the -2/+0 benefit of being the game's top tier.

SO WHY, OH WHY, over the last 6 months does Tier X feel like 2014 all over again. So many players appear to be playing the game for the first time. How is this possible in a Tier X tank? So many games where half the team refuses to move from the cap. Players wandering into known kill zones. Heavy's trying to snipe from the back. Lights, either roaring off to the other side of the map and spotting tanks which no one else can see and then dying, or hiding at the back. Lemming trains. Not responding to where the emery are on the map. The list goes on and on.

I know there are endless posts on this forum about bad team mates. I accept that there are lots of bad, inexperienced or casual players. That's fine, good luck to them. But at Tier X surely we can expect the players, at the very least, to be experienced and to understand class roles, be familiar with the maps and appreciate basic tactics and mechanics.  Is this asking too much?