Jump to content


Guide to Use Premium Tanks as Trainers Updated (April 20th 2017)


  • Please log in to reply
134 replies to this topic

GIXXERCON 13 #41 Posted 27 June 2014 - 08:43 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 31769 battles
  • 3,255
  • [IMTLZ]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostSovietdeath, on 27 June 2014 - 12:41 AM, said:

Actually you are wrong with this Elite and Premium tanks are going to earn the same amount of Crew XP per battle after the patch as mentioned in the XP findings post by nyx the Elite Tanks currently earn 2x Crew XP on top of what the Crew receives from Tank XP earned

 

Example: Tank XP earned 1000

 

Basic idea of Formula 

(1000x2)+1000= 3000 crew xp

Should be (same as premiums)

1000x2= 2000 crew xp 

 

Premiums currently make an unknown multiplier that's greater than x1.65 but less than x2 and are working as intended (aside from the 25% mixing crew/vehicle type)

Elites are currently earning an unintentional x2 crew XP (not x3) as this has been confirmed by myself and other members in-game.

Your quote of "x2 crew XP on top of what the crew receives" is incorrect as "2X crew XP on top of normal tank XP" is what was actually said and Nyx further explained:

Nyx WGA, on 02 June 2014 - 09:43 PM, said:

The 2x number is correct, and I think we are saying the same thing, but it seems to be getting confused. Elite tanks should earn crew XP at an accelerated rate. However, it should not be a full 2X more, which is what it is currently set to. This is where the confusion is occurring.

With accelerated crew training in PC, you can choose to take all of that tank XP and apply it as crew XP. For our accelerated training, you receive all of the tank XP still, plus you receive more crew XP. It is not designed to be a full 2X more - I don't actually have the exact modifier here in front of me, but it is less than 2x. This is the part that was not working as intended. A full 2x was being applied.

Our entire crew system is designed to be streamlined to just the one visible crew member who earns XP at the rate of an entire crew. Accelerating training a full 2x beyond that was overpowered, which is why the modifier was designed to be different. The modifier will now drop to what it was designed to be all along.

I understand that this answer frustrates some people. It was only a matter of time until we found the incorrect modifier, and now it will be corrected back to what it was designed to be.

Edit - I don't want anyone to feel dismissed, or that we are not hearing their concerns. I am listening to the feedback, which will be provided to the devs.

 

[as I am not fully aware of how to do an advanced qoute from another thread, this post can be found in its original form here <<<CLICK]


Std. Tanks- Hellcat, T29, GwPanther, T-54 Ltwt, Pershing, AMX 50 100, IS-3, T49, Ru251, AMX13 90, M46 Patton, T-54, Obj. 430 II, E-75, M53/55, T-100 LT, M48 Patton, Cent. AX, E-50M, Leo 1, T-62a, Obj. 140, Obj. 430, Obj. 430U, T57 Heavy, T110E5, FV215b, Chieftain, S.Conq, E-100, AMX 50B, IS-7, IS-4, T110E4, T110E3, JPE-100, T92, GwE-100, B-C 155 58, Obj 261

 >>> 100% Crew= BETTER stats than listed in your garage!!! <<<

R.I.P. WoT X360 Homepage

PAINGOD stated that the Waffle won't be removed... He didn't state that it will be staying at tier X.


Sovietdeath #42 Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:09 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostGIXXERCON 13, on 27 June 2014 - 04:43 AM, said:

 

Premiums currently make an unknown multiplier that's greater than x1.65 but less than x2 and are working as intended (aside from the 25% mixing crew/vehicle type)

Elites are currently earning an unintentional x2 crew XP (not x3) as this has been confirmed by myself and other members in-game.

Your quote of "x2 crew XP on top of what the crew receives" is incorrect as "2X crew XP on top of normal tank XP" is what was actually said and Nyx further explained:

Its really semantics at this point my main point was that Elite tanks are Supposed to earn an amount Almost exactly the same As a Premium tank because both can perform Accelerated Training on PC my example was simply simplifying the explanation



GIXXERCON 13 #43 Posted 27 June 2014 - 09:47 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 31769 battles
  • 3,255
  • [IMTLZ]
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostSovietdeath, on 27 June 2014 - 05:09 AM, said:

Its really semantics at this point my main point was that Elite tanks are Supposed to earn an amount Almost exactly the same As a Premium tank because both can perform Accelerated Training on PC my example was simply simplifying the explanation

Ok, I'll buy into it... So why are elite and premium tanks supposed to be almost the same xp as opposed to exactly the same?


Std. Tanks- Hellcat, T29, GwPanther, T-54 Ltwt, Pershing, AMX 50 100, IS-3, T49, Ru251, AMX13 90, M46 Patton, T-54, Obj. 430 II, E-75, M53/55, T-100 LT, M48 Patton, Cent. AX, E-50M, Leo 1, T-62a, Obj. 140, Obj. 430, Obj. 430U, T57 Heavy, T110E5, FV215b, Chieftain, S.Conq, E-100, AMX 50B, IS-7, IS-4, T110E4, T110E3, JPE-100, T92, GwE-100, B-C 155 58, Obj 261

 >>> 100% Crew= BETTER stats than listed in your garage!!! <<<

R.I.P. WoT X360 Homepage

PAINGOD stated that the Waffle won't be removed... He didn't state that it will be staying at tier X.


Panthergraf #44 Posted 01 July 2014 - 08:38 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 36799 battles
  • 1,503
  • Member since:
    02-13-2014
Great helpful insights here, thanks! BTW: How can I see what original tank type (TD, Heavy etc.) a crew represents? Any possibility?

Tairok #45 Posted 01 July 2014 - 10:51 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 59946 battles
  • 45
  • [AWARD]
  • Member since:
    02-25-2014

I transferred my premium crews to other tanks before I knew about statistical performance penalties and such discussed in this post.  At this point I don't know where my tank crew came from.  For example I transferred my Jig Tig 88 to some crew and I don't remember if it was a tank destroyer, heavy or a medium.

 

Question #1  How do I know what my tank crew was originally?

 

Question #2  Does it matter and will it suffer a performance penalty?

 

Question #3  How do you fix the problem?



Sovietdeath #46 Posted 02 July 2014 - 05:08 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostTairok, on 01 July 2014 - 06:51 PM, said:

I transferred my premium crews to other tanks before I knew about statistical performance penalties and such discussed in this post.  At this point I don't know where my tank crew came from.  For example I transferred my Jig Tig 88 to some crew and I don't remember if it was a tank destroyer, heavy or a medium.

 

Question #1  How do I know what my tank crew was originally?

****************

There is currently no method to figure this out but you can use the crew menu to sort by tank type this will at least help you figure out where your Unassigned Crews original tank type is

******-**********

 

 

Question #2  Does it matter and will it suffer a performance penalty?

*******-*----****

Do they suffer a penalty, Yes but only while in Premium Tanks of a different type then they are originally from (because they keep their tank mastery).

 

If you pay to retrain a Premium Crew however that penalty goes away once they reach 100% mastery on a tech tree tank.

 

Does it matter? Not once they fix the penalty in an upcoming update. This Penalty was not supposed to happen with the 360 crew system

**************

Question #3  How do you fix the problem?

 

WG will be fixing the penalty in an upcoming update. But you can protect yourself by keeping better track of your crews

 

 

See above answered in the quote



Sovietdeath #47 Posted 02 July 2014 - 05:10 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View Postbarmbek76, on 01 July 2014 - 04:38 PM, said:

Great helpful insights here, thanks! BTW: How can I see what original tank type (TD, Heavy etc.) a crew represents? Any possibility?

There is currently no method to figure this out but you can use the crew menu to sort by tank type this will at least help you figure out where your Unassigned Crews original tank type is 



Mudstinger #48 Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:11 AM

    Sergeant

  • Beta Tester
  • 7392 battles
  • 110
  • Member since:
    11-09-2013

If I may, pick nation/crew (tank) you're working on and select crew on choices after selecting X,pick REASSIGN for one of the captains-now go through every tank of his nation noticing which say- Free to change,nothing, or Assign back for free. You can now open up a premium or regular tank for different crew training or just rearranging for free. As said inan earlier post try and have your premium tank open so you can train several tanks faster in light of the correct training speed of elites now. If you had lost order this would be a good time to take notes while doing all captains (including in barracks). This will help with restoring order and save silver when you want to free up a  premium or get a regular tank back to original crew.I had to do this to get the best bang for my 30 tanks. If you love the game it's worth mapping out a little bit of a plan.-JUST SAYING!---thanks for the space(and I'm keeping my tigers/E75/VIV) getting used to changes already-.p.s.don't forget,no penalty for different class crews in tanks.



Sovietdeath #49 Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:33 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013
Edit made to OP to account for 1.3 update

Sovietdeath #50 Posted 14 July 2014 - 08:33 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013
Edit made to OP to account for 1.3 update

OuterChimp7 #51 Posted 04 September 2014 - 01:02 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 16648 battles
  • 1,285
  • Member since:
    04-20-2014

Bump.  This thread was a turning point for me and thought I'd give it a bump.  

 

For the newcomers forum I think this would be a great one to sticky to the top of the forums.

 

 



Molby242 #52 Posted 04 September 2014 - 09:39 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4774 battles
  • 53
  • Member since:
    02-24-2014

1. So now after the update, you can do this with just one premium tank per nation without any penalties? 

 

2. Would you recommend doing this with Tier 5 or Tier 8 premiums to gain the most Crew XP?

2a. I currently only have Tier 6 as my highest (M4E2 Jumbo). Does this mean I'm currently stuck with either Ram II, M4E4 or T14 to train my American crews? 


 

 


Sovietdeath #53 Posted 05 September 2014 - 05:22 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostMolby242, on 04 September 2014 - 05:39 PM, said:

1. So now after the update, you can do this with just one premium tank per nation without any penalties? 

 

2. Would you recommend doing this with Tier 5 or Tier 8 premiums to gain the most Crew XP?

2a. I currently only have Tier 6 as my highest (M4E2 Jumbo). Does this mean I'm currently stuck with either Ram II, M4E4 or T14 to train my American crews? 

 

1. Simply put you only need 1 premium tank of each nation for training purposes, there is no penalties to training crews of different tank types

 

2. It really depends more on what you average better xp gains in not the tier of the tank (if you do better in a tier 5 premium do so if you do better in a tier 8 do so)

 

2a. You are only limited by (American) Premium tanks for your (American) crew so anything from the T2Light to the T34 Heavy you can also actively say switch your Jumbo crew into a premium play it and move it back to the Jumbo every other game if you wanted for free



OuterChimp7 #54 Posted 05 September 2014 - 01:42 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 16648 battles
  • 1,285
  • Member since:
    04-20-2014
When you are burning your x2 in a premium, do you get x2 the crew exp too?

Molby242 #55 Posted 05 September 2014 - 03:08 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 4774 battles
  • 53
  • Member since:
    02-24-2014

View PostSovietdeath, on 05 September 2014 - 06:22 AM, said:

 

1. Simply put you only need 1 premium tank of each nation for training purposes, there is no penalties to training crews of different tank types

 

2. It really depends more on what you average better xp gains in not the tier of the tank (if you do better in a tier 5 premium do so if you do better in a tier 8 do so)

 

2a. You are only limited by (American) Premium tanks for your (American) crew so anything from the T2Light to the T34 Heavy you can also actively say switch your Jumbo crew into a premium play it and move it back to the Jumbo every other game if you wanted for free

 

Thanks! Do you have any reccos for which tanks are worth their gold price if I went the "one prem tank per nation" route? 

 

I'm leaning towards starting off with a tier 5 first. I'm good in my regular sherman with the 105. 


 

 


leova #56 Posted 05 September 2014 - 06:39 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 11351 battles
  • 12,908
  • [47R]
  • Member since:
    06-11-2014

View PostOuterChimp7, on 05 September 2014 - 09:42 AM, said:

When you are burning your x2 in a premium, do you get x2 the crew exp too?

absolutely!

 

The crew gets the same XP a tank does, so 2k Tank XP in a game will give your crew 2k XP as well :)



OuterChimp7 #57 Posted 05 September 2014 - 07:56 PM

    Captain

  • Players
  • 16648 battles
  • 1,285
  • Member since:
    04-20-2014

View Postleova, on 05 September 2014 - 02:39 PM, said:

absolutely!

 

The crew gets the same XP a tank does, so 2k Tank XP in a game will give your crew 2k XP as well :)

 

Cool.  Thanks!

JaggedSine6 #58 Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:29 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 15540 battles
  • 5,599
  • Member since:
    02-13-2014
Great post. I haven't been moving my crews around much since I never thought about keeping the premiums empty. Does the non premium tank you transferred the crew from show up as free to transfer when you are ready to move them back? It will be nice to finally get some perks/skills in my top tier tanks.
Stats? We don't need no stinking stats.

leova #59 Posted 05 September 2014 - 08:49 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 11351 battles
  • 12,908
  • [47R]
  • Member since:
    06-11-2014
indeed, it will say "Assign Back for Free" just like it says "Good/Best Option", and "Assign for Free" with other Premiums

Sovietdeath #60 Posted 06 September 2014 - 08:24 AM

    Major

  • WoTC Online Contributor
  • 15356 battles
  • 20,363
  • Member since:
    08-10-2013

View PostJaggedSine6, on 05 September 2014 - 04:29 PM, said:

Great post. I haven't been moving my crews around much since I never thought about keeping the premiums empty. Does the non premium tank you transferred the crew from show up as free to transfer when you are ready to move them back? It will be nice to finally get some perks/skills in my top tier tanks.

 

It doesn't always show that it is free to transfer back into the non-premium the crew came from but it is a free transfer (notification seems to glitch sometimes) 

 

Easy way for me to do it is either move only 1 crew at a time per nation into your premium tanks and back 

 

Or write things down and keep track of tank of origin (Many players and supertesters have also suggested to WG to attempt to perhaps label crew with what their tank of origin is, not sure if its possible to program or not yet)






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users