Jump to content


Optimize Content - It REALLY works - late starts no more.


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

Gyrfalcon 642 #1 Posted 20 May 2015 - 10:14 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 12614 battles
  • 343
  • Member since:
    02-13-2014

After downloading the update I saw the Optimize Content option for the first time.  I used it just out of curiosity.

 

Well before I did that I was loading into matches 3-5 seconds before the match started, sometimes even a few seconds after it started.  After I did the optimize content, I now load in to games 25-30 seconds BEFORE the match starts.

 

If you haven't done it already, do it.  It does work and it makes a differences.

 

Thank you Wargaming for adding this highly useful feature.



AdmrHackett #2 Posted 20 May 2015 - 10:16 PM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 16744 battles
  • 9,689
  • Member since:
    10-11-2013

View PostGyrfalcon 642, on 20 May 2015 - 02:14 PM, said:

After downloading the update I saw the Optimize Content option for the first time.  I used it just out of curiosity.

 

Well before I did that I was loading into matches 3-5 seconds before the match started, sometimes even a few seconds after it started.  After I did the optimize content, I now load in to games 25-30 seconds BEFORE the match starts.

 

If you haven't done it already, do it.  It does work and it makes a differences.

 

Thank you Wargaming for adding this highly useful feature.

It already existed since day 1. Press LB + RB + Y = defrag



Tempest fox3 #3 Posted 20 May 2015 - 10:16 PM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 17862 battles
  • 12,931
  • Member since:
    08-22-2013
You could always Optimize (/Defragment) the game. It's just, less hidden than it used to be.

War is a Democracy and the enemy always gets a vote.

3 MoE's: E-25, M41 Walker Bulldog, E-50, Snakebite, E-75 - In order obtained


Gyrfalcon 642 #4 Posted 20 May 2015 - 10:18 PM

    Staff sergeant

  • Players
  • 12614 battles
  • 343
  • Member since:
    02-13-2014

View PostAdmrHackett, on 20 May 2015 - 10:16 PM, said:

It already existed since day 1. Press LB + RB + Y = defrag

 

Maybe the new update is more streamlined codewise, but I never got as drastic results using that method as what I saw last night.

Linerax #5 Posted 20 May 2015 - 10:37 PM

    Major

  • Players
  • 4743 battles
  • 9,144
  • Member since:
    03-28-2014
I think the optimize content is a more serious defrag option.

Credit to PublicSafety

Gold Prices

The Chief's Survival Guide

 


Tempest fox3 #6 Posted 21 May 2015 - 12:01 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 17862 battles
  • 12,931
  • Member since:
    08-22-2013

View PostLinerax, on 20 May 2015 - 11:37 PM, said:

I think the optimize content is a more serious defrag option.

 

View PostGyrfalcon 642, on 20 May 2015 - 11:18 PM, said:

 

Maybe the new update is more streamlined codewise, but I never got as drastic results using that method as what I saw last night.
 
The only difference is now there is a button on screen that you can press. The process is unchanged. All it does is move the game files so that they are in a better sequential order. That's all defragmenting anything every does.

Edited by Tempest fox3, 21 May 2015 - 12:02 AM.

War is a Democracy and the enemy always gets a vote.

3 MoE's: E-25, M41 Walker Bulldog, E-50, Snakebite, E-75 - In order obtained


AdmrHackett #7 Posted 21 May 2015 - 12:22 AM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 16744 battles
  • 9,689
  • Member since:
    10-11-2013

View PostTempest fox3, on 20 May 2015 - 04:01 PM, said:

 

 
The only difference is now there is a button on screen that you can press. The process is unchanged. All it does is move the game files so that they are in a better sequential order. That's all defragmenting anything every does.

The defraging process also looks for files that haven't downloaded properly and redownloads them.



BHOgart710 #8 Posted 21 May 2015 - 12:32 AM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 21992 battles
  • 125
  • [GODZ]
  • Member since:
    07-18-2014
I'm glad you finally found that. it's been around even before there was a button. Lol

Xystra #9 Posted 31 May 2015 - 07:09 AM

    Corporal

  • Beta Tester
  • 1305 battles
  • 64
  • Member since:
    11-10-2013

View PostTempest fox3, on 20 May 2015 - 07:01 PM, said:

 

 
The only difference is now there is a button on screen that you can press. The process is unchanged. All it does is move the game files so that they are in a better sequential order. That's all defragmenting anything every does.

 

I'd been wondering about that myself... can we get a Dev to confirm that it is just a new button with the exact same functionality, or if it works a little differently?

Jagged Icicle #10 Posted 03 February 2017 - 08:46 PM

    Corporal

  • Players
  • 15387 battles
  • 49
  • [BSHRG]
  • Member since:
    02-23-2014
I've been looking for this option but can't find it,  which screen is it in.  I've looked at load in,  menu options etc but can't find it (I'm sure I'll feel like a dumb [edited]when someone points it out) 

Resistance is futile, have a nice day...


giaka #11 Posted 03 February 2017 - 08:57 PM

    Major

  • Beta Tester
  • 40199 battles
  • 18,620
  • [WTAF]
  • Member since:
    06-29-2013
On the One you do this by completely powering off the system. Hold power for 6 seconds or unplug it. The One defrags from the powered off state when you boot back up.

 

 

 

 


CagedIntrepid00 #12 Posted 03 February 2017 - 09:11 PM

    Sergeant

  • Players
  • 5335 battles
  • 168
  • Member since:
    09-07-2015

View PostTempest fox3, on 21 May 2015 - 12:01 AM, said:

 

 
All it does is move the game files so that they are in a better sequential order. That's all defragmenting anything every does.

Contiguous space, free and used,  is the aim of modern Defrag. Sequential doesn't help if the drive head still has to move wide ends of the disk to read data. 






1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users